Team Analysis: Sunrisers Hyderabad

srh 1

The last IPL winner, Sunrisers Hyderabad debuted in the league in 2013 edition of IPL. Deccan chargers were replaced by the second Hyderabad-based franchise and since then they have been quite successive in their approach. Last time, Sunrisers outclassed another team with their impressive bowling. Led by the highest overseas run getter in IPL David warner Hyderabad rose to the crown by overpowering RCB.

From the last year squad, Sunrisers Hyderabad made few of the major exclusions with Trent Boult being the most surprise one. The emission of Trent Boult will be blessings in disguise for him as he only got one game to play in the last year IPL 2016 as Mustafizur was their first choice bowler. Another major omission was that of England’s limited over captain Eoin Morgan, he is in epic form right now and Hyderabad franchise might regret excluding him. Karn Sharma the left arm spin bowler who was at his natural best at 2015 IPL was not enough fruitful last year and has been axed from the squad. Along with these three, there were more 3 exclusions in the form Aditya Tare, Ashish reddy and T Suman.


With the release of Karn Sharma, the major trouble for the SRH was to strengthen their spin department at the IPL auction 2016. They bagged in Rashid Khan the spin sensation from Afghanistan for 4 crores rupees and along with that, they acquired Mohammed Nabi and Pravin Tambe to robust their spin options. Mohammed Nabi can provide assistant with the bat too at lower down the order. The other area which needed a backup option was for the wicketkeeper, Naman Ojha though is impressive with gloves but a slight injury can be dreadful if there is not any backup. Eklavya Dwivedi was roped in as a backup wicketkeeper in the squad. Mohammed Siraj the Indian seamer who impressed one and all in the domestic T20 championship was their second biggest buy and cost 2.6 crores. With Mustafizur Rahman being prone to injuries quite often Chris Jordan and Ben Laughlin were bagged in at their base price as a replacement. Another domestic star who was in the good news for his blasting run of form Tanmay Agarwal was another pick for the squad. Sunrisers Hyderabad picked a total of 8 players in the IPL auction 2017. 

srh 3

Despite not topping the charts at round robin, Sunrisers Hyderabad went to win the IPL 2016 courtesy David warner form and run play. Hyderabad has since an impeccable leader in form of David warner. This year too in IPL 2017, they would love to continue their winning run and Triumph the trophy. Sunrisers Hyderabad’s fast bowling is pretty strong in comparison with other teams and with the admittance of Nabi and Rashid, they have now fortified their spin department too. Their major area of concern is their batting line up. Big names are there on the team but out of them Only David warner performs and is the highest overseas run getter.  Sunrisers would love that Dhawan too clicks with the bat. Most probably no three spots will be given to Kane Williamson and middle order has the experience of Yuvraj Singh interacted. Moises Henriques, Deepak Hooda, and Naman Ojha will strengthen their late over explosions. In terms of bowling, they have plenty of options to trust in.  Nehra’s form and Bhuneshwar temperament will be equally supported by the accuracy of Rahman and Jordan in the  IPL 2017. 

We would hope that magic of David warner batting will be also there in the 10th season of IPL and Sunrisers Hyderabad cruises to victory.

Full Squad:

Existing Players: Shikhar Dhawan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, David Warner, Moises Henriques, Naman Ojha, Ricky Bhui, Kane Williamson, Siddarth Kaul, Bipul Sharma, Ashish Nehra, Yuvraj Singh, Ben Cutting, Abhimanyu Mithun, Mustafizur Rahman, Barinder Sran, Deepak Hooda, Vijay Shankar.

Players bought: Tanmay Agarwal (10 Lakhs), Mohammad Nabi (30 Lakh), Ekalavya Dwivedi (75 Lakh), Rashid Khan (4 Cr), Pravin Tambe (10 Lakh), Chris Jordan (50 Lakh), Ben Laughlin (30 Lakh), Mohammed Siraj (2.60 Cr)

Players to Watch out for:

Rashid Khan, Mustafizur Rahman, Mohd Siraj, Tanmay Agarwal and David Warner.

Sunrisers Hyderabad

Winner: 2016
SUN TV Network
Tom Moody
David Warner
Rajiv Gandhi Intl. Cricket Stadium



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s