Team Analysis: Mumbai Indians


Two-time IPL winners, Mumbai Indians team is shredded by a quality coaching staff. The stars in their assistance are bigger than their present star. With the guidance of Ponting, Tendulkar, Robin Singh, Jonty Rhodes and now Jayawardene, the responsibility of the team to perform becomes huge. There is always a high expectation associated with the MI plans. Having the forgetful season in last year IPL Mumbai Indians will be looking forward to starting the season 10 campaign with a bang. Mumbai Indians are probably the best guarders of their fortress but they will have to perform in away matches too.

Losing 50 percent of their IPL 2016 matches Mumbai Indians were placed fifth after the round robins and were eliminated. Last year Lendl Simmons injuries led to roping of Martin Guptill inclusion who was otherwise unsold. But the debut edition of IPL was not fruitful for him and this year he was the major exclusion from the Mumbai Indians side. The star all-rounder from New-Zealand Corey Anderson who has won quite a lot of games for MI was another major omission. Two fast bowler merchant de Lange and Jerome Taylor were also excluded from the side. The other major exclusions included that of Indian domestic stars Nathu Singh and Unmukt Chand. There was a total of 8 omissions from the last year squad of Mumbai Indians.

mumbai indians 3

The team though left out 8 players but their core players were still intact. The major responsibilities for Mumbai franchise at IPL 2017 auction were to buy a perfect fast bowler for the team. Mumbai Indians showed faith in their previous member of the squad Mitchell Johnson and paid a hefty price of 2 crores for him. Mitchell though is not seen much in international arena nowadays but his fiery fast bowling can be trusted anytime. The major buy of MI was getting the left arm spinner Karn Sharma to their side who has been quite a useful aspect in  IPL matches. Saurabh Tiwary and K Gowtham rewon the trust of the franchise and were bought in the auction. Other major buy included that of Nicolas Pooran – the hard-hitting wicketkeeper-batsman of West Indies and Asela Gunaratne who is in the form of his life and can be handy with both bat and ball if given chance.

mumbai indians 2

Two-time winners and having a star oriented team there is always pressure on Mumbai Indians to perform. Mumbai Indians, unlike other teams, doesn’t believe in doing major changes and considered slow starters. Usually, they gain momentum of wins at the end of the season but this time they will aim at gaining momentum right from the beginning by picking up.the best eleven for IPL 2017. Team’s vital asset is their batting which is backed by powerful hitters like Kieron Pollard, Lendl Simmons, Jos Butler and of course the captain himself Rohit Sharma.In all-rounders, they have the duties of Pandya brothers who can be handy with both bat and ball. Harbhajan Singh‘s performance both with the willow and ball is quite epic and can be useful for the team. Parthiv Patel is in good touch and middle order batting void lies on the shoulder of Ambati Rayudu. With the inclusion of Mitchell Johnson, the fast bowling is strengthened. There are slight injury worries for the Speedster Lasith Malinga but Mumbai Indians can trust the sublime form of Jasprit Bumrah. There is plenty of fast bowling options with Vinay Kumar, Tim Southee and Mitchell McClenaghan forming the squad. On the other hand, the spin department looks a little dull with only Harbhajan Singh and Karn Sharma being the famous names.

The major worries for the team of Mumbai Indians before the start of  IPL 2017 is forming and picking the best winning possible eleven as soon as possible. With as many as 7-8 match winners in a single team, the hope cited with Mumbai Indians making it to the final will always be there.

Full squad:

Existing Players: Rohit Sharma, Kieron Pollard, Lasith Malinga, Harbhajan Singh, Ambati Rayudu, Jasprit Bumrah, Shreyas Gopal, Lendl Simmons, Vinay Kumar, Parthiv Patel, Mitchell McClenaghan, Nitish Rana, Siddhesh Lad, J Suchith, Hardik Pandya, Jos Buttler, Tim Southee, Jithesh Sharma, Krunal Pandya, Deepak Punia.

Players Bought: Nicholas Pooran (30 Lakh), Mitchell Johnson (2 Cr), K Gowtham (2 Cr), Karn Sharma (3.2 Cr), Saurabh Tiwary (30 Lakh), A Gunaratne (30 Lakh), K Khejroliya (10 Lakh)

Players to watch out for:

Jos Butler, Krunal Pandya, Parthiv Patel, A Gunaratne and Rohit Sharma.

Mumbai Indians

Winners: 2013, 2015
Indiawin Sports Pvt. Ltd
Mahela Jayawardene
Rohit Sharma
Wankhede Stadium



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s